365 Grains of Sand…

As I fell asleep last night my hand opened to reveal 365 worn grains of sand – each like an empty package, with ribbon and bows strewn about… each grain of sand, like a day in the past year, tiny in comparison to the full scheme of things.

As my body relaxed and drifted into a much needed slumber, my fingers fell open, allowing the grains of sand to fall through my fingers – landing deep within my memory, where they will be stored.

Many will remain on the memory shelf untouched, never be seen again, and others will be pulled off of the memory shelf , to be examined and experienced again when needed…

This morning when I awoke my hand was filled with 365 new grains of sand, all neatly in place, still wrapped in shiny paper, adorned with ribbon and bows – each grain of sand representative of the days to come. Each to be opened one at a time, every 24 hours.

The contents within each is a hidden mystery only to be seen when the time is here.

Today I will put the yesterday’s to rest… and move in to the tomorrow’s.

Published in: on January 1, 2010 at 6:58 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://truddle.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/365-grains-of-sand/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wonderful. 🙂

    Happy New Year, Truddle!

  2. Beautifully written.

    Tomorrows full of promise and intrigue can also benefit from our “yesterday experiences”. I’m sure the tomorrow’s will mingle with the yesterdays.

    May 2010 bring you great joys and successes.

  3. Happy New Year Truddle! It was so nice seeing your writing and the deeply felt, dreamed thoughts behind the words. To be honest I get a little tired of everyone putting up stuff that someone else has created on FB. I want to know what my friends think and feel! And you do not disappoint. Here’s to a great year full of adventure and discovery!

  4. David thank you so much for your kind comments – although this is an old post, it felt right for today. Like you I look for the new on FB, and miss our group of blogging buddies 🙂

  5. Bev: Happy New Year. I am surprised to learn that those were your own thoughts and writings. Funny, I read it when you first posted it and thought how beautiful and inspirational it was, but assumed you had copied and pasted it from some site. That is lovely and what a gift from God to have a vision like that. God bless you and may each of your 2012 packages unfold with much joy and happiness and good health and may each day of the coming year be a wonderful adventure.

  6. Hi Carol… yes these and all the posts on this blog (click the word Whisper at the top of the page to see more) are words writen by me. It is something that I love to do, and you are right it is a gift, and one that I very much appreciate 🙂 I am indeed blessed. Carol I am excited to open each of the little packages when the time comes to do so – the beginning of a new year always amazes me 🙂

  7. Bev that is so beautiful you are the most gifted niece and a blessing to our family. Best to you and all the family in this wonderful New Year!
    Love you guys lots!!!


Leave a Reply

