Within the Hawthorn Tree…

The hawthorn tree that sits off of our big open deck has become a source of great enjoyment for my early morning meanderings outside. The smell from the flowers is heavenly, and the activity from the birds is very fun to watch, not to mention time consuming!

hawthorn

The new kid in town has been identified as a Cedar Waxwing from both Sunshyness and Lori, and he has been back for another visit.

DSC_1011b

This time he brought a friend – or perhaps his wife? Do the male and female of these birds look the same? Either way, male or female I find them very beautiful!

DSC_1008a

The Cedar Waxwings were sharing the hawthorn with these little guys. At first I thought perhaps they were the children, but upon closer look I believe they are a different species.

DSC_1005b

I am not very good with bird names, in fact the only thing about birds I know for sure is I like to take their picture! There sure is lots that goes on within the branches of the hawthorn tree!

Published in: on May 25, 2008 at 9:39 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://truddle.wordpress.com/2008/05/25/within-the-hawthorn-tree/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yep, those are Cedar Waxwings alright. I’m so jealous! I’ve been wanting to photograph them for forever!

    Looks like female house finches in the last photo…

  2. Jules they are so beautiful… don’t they look as smooth as satin. I have not seen one before these, not because they have not been there I am sure, but because I never noticed before. It is amazing the things I notice now with my new camera.

  3. I love those birds.. looks like they’ve sat on the edge of a paint can and got yellow paint on the tip of the tail!

  4. You are getting some amazing bird photos. I’m very impressed, Truddle. 🙂

  5. Your hawthorn looks similar, but the flower I shot was a round group. Could be a German version.

  6. The house I grew up in had a large Wax Myrtle outside my bedroom window. Dad had let it grow beyond the size of a foundation plant. The tiny Cedar Waxwings came to it is large nembers. I could lie in bed and watch them…..which I often did as an adolescent.
    Dad also had rows of Hawthornes….he was “studying them.” Cretaegus, he called them. Your photos have taken me back to my childhood home. Thanks.

  7. I am so glad I visited this morning..loved the pictures of your little grandson (I still say he has gorgeous eyes!).

    The bird photos are wonderful too!! I have never seen a Cedar Waxwing before..he is grand looking!! I wonder if we have those here in north Florida? I have a few wax myrtle trees so I will start observing better. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing yoru world with us!

  8. Great shots of the birds … amazing!


Leave a Reply

