Silent Reminder…

It is told that when I was a few months over a year old, I was still not walking on my own. It was my grandmother who solved the problem.

I was able to stand, and walk quite well while holding onto a single finger of another person, so my grandmother took me for a walk one day, but instead of offering her finger to me for balance she handed me the other end of a piece of string she held in her hand.

Happily that toddler took that end of string, and with all the security in the world walked with her grandmother. After a time the grandmother dropped her end of the string. The toddler walked on with no problems. For several weeks the toddler would revert back to crawling or walking around furniture until someone handed her the piece of string, and then off she would go. Then one day the toddler dropped the string.

It was on that day she learned to fly! The world was hers…..

bird1
( – taken through the library window)

I think of my grandmother often. I miss her dearly, but she is never far from me. The lessons she taught me stay with me today. When I feel alone in the world it is her voice that I hear whispering in my ear – reminding me of that piece of string – reminding that I can do it – that I am not alone – that I will always have that piece of string and can use it when ever I need it.

Yesterday I went into the kitchen. Opened the drawer and pulled out the box that held the string that Jamie and I keep in the kitchen. I pulled out a length, cut it, held it in my hand with my eyes closed I thought of my grandmother. Again I heard her voice. 

After a time I put the string in my pocket.

I think I will keep the piece of string close to me for a little while – a silent reminder – one that I need right now.

Published in: on November 23, 2007 at 11:04 am  Comments (15)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://truddle.wordpress.com/2007/11/23/silent-reminder/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I often have little things that remind me of my grandmother.. sounds like your gramma was to you very much like my gramma was to me.. ever wonder if we will now become those grammas that our grandchildren will remember??

  2. Shepet… I don’t have to wonder – I know 🙂

  3. that was so nice to read Truddle, made my eyes water and now i want to get some string… I think we could all use a bit of string once in a while.

  4. Very nice, Truddle. It’s good to have something to hold on to once in a while.

  5. Thanks terienalynn and Robin

  6. What a wonderful story and memory for you. The fact that you have that to file away in the core of yourself is the only string you will ever need! I’m glad you have that! Thank you for sharing this. It made my day!

  7. Thanks so much Corina — I am glad too.

  8. so cute! awesome shot.

  9. Beautiful story and photo!

  10. Thank you so much ankush!

  11. Thank you Shawn, your kind words are appreciated!

  12. Wonderful!

  13. 🙂

  14. Love the birds. Their pictures attract us. You take such intimate photos.

  15. Sandra — Thank you so much!


Leave a Reply

