Sit a spell…

Here it is the weekend before the day I go back to work. How fast these past two weeks have gone by. Over far to fast!

Although it was a break that was needed, I never realized how badly, until now, as it is ending.

chair

Working from home, via the internet, it would have been easy to peek in – just to check to see how things are going… to dash off a few lines of code – but I have refrained, which most who know me will know how hard that was for me to do. I have forced myself to step away, in order for me to be able to step back in.

I have included this image as a reminder to myself, that I need to take the time to relax… take the time to rejuvinate – to remind myself that it is important to not loose myself in the rush of the day. Perhaps it is a good reminder for all of us?

This past week has not turned out how I had hoped. It has not been the relaxing last week of holidays Jamie and I talked about when we were away – with returning home, so did we return to our reality – my reality.

The day after our return I found out that my mom is in the hospital again. This time in intensive care – fighting an infection that is not working well with her diabetes nor her heart. My dad alone at home is spending far to much time worrying, not wanting to leave the house other than trips to the hospital, for fear he might miss an important phone call from one doctor or another. My mom is 70 now, these things are harder for her to fight… but I have seen her, sat and visited with her, and she is holding her own, and seemingly starting to feel better, and I suspect she will soon be let out of the hospital. This is a relief to all of us – but it brings again to the forefront the fact that my parents are aging, they are vulnerble to so many things now that in their younger years would not have caused a second thought. That fact alone scares me. That fear has taken the umph out of the past week — but I know I need to keep moving forward – I will.

Yes I am excited to go back to work. As silly as it may sound I really do love my job! I enjoy what I do, I enjoy the challenges it offers me, and I enjoy the fact that yes I really am good at what I do. It is in many ways my individuality. It is what sets me apart! It amazes me!

The Halloween party is set for the 27th of October, and although we have not come right out and told the girls, Yes Jamie and I will be doing the ‘haunted walk’ again this year. Each year it seems to get harder and harder to switch it up. I refuse to keep it the same as it has been in years past. I don’t want people to think as they do the walk, oh yeah, right around this corner is where the cobwebs are — I want it to be different, a new experience each year. Jamie agrees. So since the 27th is next weekend and I go back to work on Monday — next week will be a very busy time. Working for both Jamie and I during the day, and then the evenings working on getting the walk set up. Jamie and I have decided on the route to the party site and now we just need to make it happen.

But for the rest of this weekend, I am going to keep breathing, keep trying to relax, I am going to sit a spell – Monday will come soon enough!

Published in: on October 20, 2007 at 8:35 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://truddle.wordpress.com/2007/10/20/sit-a-spell/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Monday always comes too soon, for my liking.

    The idea of a haunted walk is interesting to me. All I have ever done is decorate the yard but it has been a long time since I’ve had a yard to decorate and I’ve never had anyone to help with the decorating so it has been minimal.

    I’ve enjoyed reading about your last weekend before returning to work. I hope you make the most of it…or perhaps I should say make the LEAST of it. Enjoy it while it lasts.

  2. I know all about that fear and excitement about going back to work after some time off. And I know how hard it was for you to keep off the keyboard. You hate all that stuff that happens without you! And if you just took a moment to help out….

    Glad you’re back to blogging though. We missed you when you were gone for a few days.

    B.

  3. Corina thank you so much for stopping by – The halloween walk is something Jamie and I have been doing for the past 3 years. We always said when our kids were older we would like to do something like this — and now we do — You have no idea how much we laugh the two of us in the pitch black as we scare the bejeepers out of 20+ year olds. I will go into details of the walk here on my blog once I know what we are up to ourselves, and I hope to get some good pictures this year as well. So stay tuned.

  4. Beth good to see you – I was thinking about you while I was gone!

  5. Re: Your Watership Down Comment

    I think that portion of my blog you are talking about is the Biblio-file. I have read it twice. The second time was this summer. I find that book to be magical.

    I have more to say but I think I’ll email you.

  6. Bibliomom I will watch for your email!

  7. Well… Good Luck… I know how it feels to go back to work after time off… Personally speaking, I wouldn’t have wanted to go back 😛

  8. bbZuSh I am one of the lucky few that really loves her job. Yes I have frustrating days, days when I am just not up for working but on those days I can choose to have a shorter day. I fear I would be dreadfully bored if I didnt have my job to challenge me… but then again maybe not. Eh matters not, tomorrow is Monday… and tomorrow I will go back 🙂


Leave a Reply

