There is Beauty in Every Thistle Patch!

Here we are the last day of September! In 6 more days Jamie and I will celebrate another anniversary, in another 8 days it will be Thanksgiving here and I will have a houseful, and in 9 days I will be off of the computer and on the road to our holiday destination! So yes I am charged! It is going to be very busy times coming up…

So this morning I remembered why my ipod has not been charged in a long time — these ear thingy’s that came with it, really are not one size fit all …They downright hurt! Seriously, I’m not kidding… and when they don’t hurt they fall out! Being blessed with small ears is not always a good thing.

I do have a head set, that in the past I have used, but it is big, cumbersome and well not very attractive, nor really comfortable and this morning not working. Now I know several of you will jump in here and tell me that there is a new invention out there … small ear thingy’s  for ipods… and you will not be the first one to tell me this, Jamie has told me this several times already… I just never think of it when I am in town and in the right store.

But right now I am suffering through with sore ears as I write, listening to Roger Hodgson (from Supertramp), and he is giving me energy and peace with his songs. Have you heard him? It is well worth the trip and search to utube for a listen. You might also want to explore further and have a look and listen at Supertramp. …. and my ipod moves on to Fleetwood Mac …

thistle1

So today our son and youngest child is again re-entering the nest. After a couple of rough months he is in need of peace and healing and he knows he can find it here – and so he will come home. He missed his fire season this year, other than one small fire, due to a broken ankle and having to spend several weeks on crutches. He hopes to go back next summer to give smoky the bear a helping hand, but for this year- our fire season has ended.

Sharlyn is still with us – but that time will be coming to an end soon, as the work on their house gets closer to an end she will soon be moving back home, to fluff her nest in preperation for pickles who is expected to make his appearance January 5th. Yes I am still thinking boy — but would be just as happy for another grand daughter. The ‘boy’ prediction is just a feeling I have, and over the years I have learned to go with those feelings. Right or wrong it will not matter when I hold that little one in my arms.

Empty nest? Jamie and I have yet to experience it! Jamie and I often joke that our children have a conspiracy going on – “Mom and Dad are alone! Quick – get over there!”

Thanksgiving – again will be at our house with everyone coming here — but if I don’t get serious about planning and shopping the only thing that will be on the menu is peanut butter sandwiches!

… and then is our gloreous week away – the one time of year that Jamie and I take just for ourselves. We are so not ready – there is laundry to do, lists to make … but it does not matter – we will be ready to go when the time comes and all things will be done — and after the mad rush of the week prior – the peace will be even more evident! We both have learned that there is beauty in every thistle patch!

This will also be a very busy work week – not only tying up loose end, so everything is ready for me to be away… but also with the big project I am and have been working on. For those of you who are curious about this big project I cannot tell you about it just yet… but very soon you will know and I hope it will be worth the wait!

So for now it is time for me to get out of here and get this day started, but I would like to leave you with this one thought… when you run into that thistle patch in your life… take a moment and look for the beauty… for it really is there, you just have to open your eyes wide enough to see it!

Have a great day!

Published in: on September 30, 2007 at 8:50 am  Comments (15)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://truddle.wordpress.com/2007/09/30/there-is-beauty-in-every-thistle-patch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have trouble with ear buds or whatever they call those things, too. My ears are small and don’t like it when I try to stick things in them.

    You sound like your plate is very full right now, and happy to have it so. 🙂

  2. Charged indeed my friend…wow, I found myself blazing through this post! I think I picked up on your energy… Wonderful post and absolutely beautiful photo!!!

    DWH

  3. Robin I am glad to hear I am not alone in the ear bud department… hmmm maybe the ipod people will read this and send us both some that are comfortable… hmmm prob not… but it was a nice thought while it lasted. You are right my plate is very full right now, and yes I am happy about it!

  4. DL I am honored not only by your visit but by your kind words. Your photography and writting are magical to say the least… you have a gift that is untouched, but one that I strive for. The Doves Coo is one that I have been on the lookout for in our town… the hunt continues.

  5. Wow, full house again. DH an my biggest hope is that our little one’s will feel comfortable enough and like us enough that, should they have/reach such a point/have a need as your DS&DD, they would come home as well. I think it is wonderful that you and Jamie are there for them. What blessed children you have!

  6. Thanks Tam… but if truth be told it is Jamie and I that are blessed 🙂

  7. I totally know the one about seeing beauty in the thistle pach.. nice to know that you have those too! and I am so glad that you see what is hidden.. because it is those that don’t see it that miss out.. love you guys..

  8. Hey Shelly glad to see you made your way in here! Look forward to visiting your blog…. and we love you too!

  9. So *that’s* what that purple-y thing was! I took a photo of one, not having clue one what it was except eye-catching.

    You & Jamie enjoy your holiday hon.

  10. I way SO happy to find someone else who uses the word “thingy”!! A kindred spirit. I find the word thingy can be used to describe so many thingys.

    Your advice is well taken. In the middle of many a patch of thistle I’ve been blessed to find the beauty. Thank you for reminding me.

  11. Thanks Stace! I love the thistle flower – but do watch out for the prickles! We are getting excited for our holiday… it feels like a long time coming, and I am sure the time will go by way to fast.

  12. Bibliomom a kindred spirt in more ways that one…. I have walked where you are walking now, and my heart goes out to you. It is not an easy road, but one that you will look back on in years to come with pride.

  13. I just bought my wife a I-POD for her birthday and it has been a nightmare to get going, finally we got it loaded and she is taking it on her runs. The holidays can be just like a thistle patch sometimes they are tough to get thru but when you get thru all the sharp needles and leafs the beauty will emerge and make it all worthwhile.

  14. When I start running in a couple of weeks, I will be bringing mine with me to, I will need something to keep my mind off of the fact that I am dying – out of breath – a no doubt sore! You are so right about the holidays Bernie!

  15. this is my favorite. love thistles too. Great clarity


Leave a Reply

